May
21
Fri
Religious Leaders and Women: Giving Witness to Fratelli Tutti @ Online
May 21 @ 5:00 pm – 6:30 pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pax Christi Philippines, Pax Christi Asia, and Pax Christi International are pleased to invite you to a webinar to mark the International Women’s Day for Peace and Disarmament. The webinar will feature contributions from Sr Filo Hirota and Archbishop Antonio Ledesma and will be hosted by Dr Jasmin Nario-Galace of Miriam College / Pax Christi Philippines. The meeting starts at 7:00 GMT.
To Register Click HERE
Manila, Philippines Fri, 21 May 2021 at 15:00 PHST
Lima, Peru Fri, 21 May 2021 at 02:00 PET
Toronto, Canada Fri, 21 May 2021 at 03:00 EDT
Washington DC, USA Fri, 21 May 2021 at 03:00 EDT
Edinburgh, United Kingdom Fri, 21 May 2021 at 08:00 BST
Brussels, Belgium Fri, 21 May 2021 at 09:00 CEST
Nairobi, Kenya Fri, 21 May 2021 at 10:00 EAT
Colombo, Sri Lanka Fri, 21 May 2021 at 12:30 IST
Seoul, South Korea Fri, 21 May 2021 at 16:00 KST
Tokyo, Japan Fri, 21 May 2021 at 16:00 JST
Melbourne, Sydney Australia Fri, 21 May 2021 at 17:00 AEST
Auckland, New Zealand Fri, 21 May 2021 at 19:00 NZST

Jun
7
Mon
WAR AND THE ENVIRONMENT @ Online
Jun 7 @ 12:00 am – Jul 18 @ 1:00 am

 

 

 

 

 

We’d like to invite you to something that is much more than a simple webinar. This is a thorough education gained over a six-week period. You can reserve a spot in our upcoming online course on War and the Environment, planned for June 7 to July 18.

Click here to learn more, watch a video about the course, and register.

Grounded in research on peace and ecological security, this course focusses on the relationship between two existential threats: war and environmental catastrophe. We will cover:

• Where wars happen and why.
• What wars do to the earth.
• What imperial militaries do to the earth back home.
• What nuclear weapons have done and could do to people and the planet.
• How this horror is hidden and maintained.
• What can be done.

Jun
8
Tue
IMAGINING A BETTER WORLD @ Online
Jun 8 @ 7:30 pm – 10:00 pm

Imagining A Better World – June 8thImagining A Better World – June 8th

IMAGINING A BETTER WORLD
RICHARD FALK & STUART REES
IN CONVERSATION WITH JOSEPH CAMILLERI
TUESDAY 8TH JUNE 7:30PM AEST
LONDON 10:30AM ATHENS 11:30AM ISTANBUL 12:30PM
NEW DELHI 3:00PM KUALA LUMPUR/PERTH 5:30PM
TOKYO 6:30PM AUCKLAND 9:30PM [ZOOM EVENT]
www.crossroadsconversation.com.au
TWO REMARKABLE BOOKS, TWO INSPIRING JOURNEYS
Click here
to register
PRESENTED BY
CONVERSATION AT THE CROSSROADS
PUBLIC INTELLECTUAL
Described by some as the most gripping political memoir they have
read, Public Intellectual reveals how Richard Falk rose to prominence
in America and internationally as a leading international law scholar
and a public intellectual. It recounts a life of progressive commitment,
unyielding engagement and constant questioning of himself and
others. It is a life that places Falk and the reader at the centre of our
deepest crises, be it Vietnam, South Africa, Iran, or Israel and Palestine.
US interventionism, the Cold War, nuclear weapons, the ecological
crisis, human rights abuses, academia and his personal life are woven
together in a dramatic and illuminating account of the current human
predicament.
CRUELTY OR HUMANITY
Cruelty has long been a feature of the conduct of states, but is seldom
acknowledged for what it is, let alone explained or effectively resisted.
Governments mouth respect for human rights yet promote
discrimination, violence and suppression of critics.
Documenting case studies from around the world, distinguished
academic and human rights advocate Stuart Rees exposes politically
motivated cruelty and its outcomes. Using his first-hand observations
and insights from scholars and poets, he argues for bold action to
devise non-violent mindsets and institutions on which the future
well-being of people, animals and the planet depend.
FEATURING A FASCINATING ARRAY OF GUESTS
Richard Falk is one of the world’s leading scholars in the fields of International Relations and
International Law. He is Professor Emeritus of International Law, Princeton University;
Professor, Orfalea Center of Global and International Studies, University of California Santa
Barbara; author/co-author of over 70 books, and hundreds of journal articles. He has served
in various roles for the United Nations and non-government organisations, including as UN
Special Rapporteur on human rights in the Occupied Palestinian Territories (2008-2014). He
has been an animator, convener, contributor for numerous national and international
initiatives, including the Independent International Commission on Kosovo.
Stuart Rees is Emeritus Professor University of Sydney where for twenty years he held the
chair in Social Work & Social Policy and founded the Sydney Peace Foundation which
established the prestigious Sydney Peace Prize. His writings on peace and social justice
issues and several anthologies of poetry, illuminate the present social and political
landscape and pose the biggest question of all: what does it mean to be human?
Hilary Charlesworth
Laureate Professor at Melbourne Law School and Distinguished
Professor in the Regulatory Institutions Network at the Australian National University.
Amin Saikal
Adjunct Professor of Social Sciences at University of Western Australia, and former
University Distinguished Professor of Political Science, and Foundation Director of the
Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies at the Australian National University (1994-2019).
Kirthi Jayakumar
Activist, artist, entrepreneur and writer from Chennai, India. She holds an MA in Peace
and Conflict Studies from Coventry University, and an MA in Sustainable Peace in a
Contemporary World from the University of Peace, Costa Rica.
Chandra Muzaffar
One of Asia’s leading public intellectuals, and president of the International
Movement for a Just World (JUST), based in Malaysia. He is board chairman of
Yayasan 1Malaysia, a foundation promoting national unity.
Raffaele Marchetti
Deputy Rector for Internationalization and Professor in International Relations at the
Department of Political Science and the School of Government of LUISS. He is the
editor of the Routledge/DoC series World Politics and Dialogues of Civilizations.
Punam Yadav
Research Fellow in Gender and Disasters in the Institute for Risk and Disaster
Reduction, University College London. Prior to this, she was Research Fellow in the
Centre for Women, Peace and Security and Teaching Fellow at the London School of
Economics and Political Science.
Hanan Ashrawi
A distinguished Palestinian leader, legislator, activist, scholar, and author of many
books, articles, poems and short stories. She served as a member of the PLO
Leadership Committee and as an official spokesperson of the Palestinian delegation
to the Middle East peace process.